Students building robots at Challenger Space Center

ASQ in the Community

Challenger Space Center

  • ASQ Phoenix provided a grant in Summer 2016 to the Challenger Space Center
    • Goal: promote interest in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math)
    • Programs include building robots and “young astronauts”
    • Purpose: Teach students critical thinking and problem solving skills needed for technical jobs
  • Are you interested in supporting our vision at the Challenger Space Center?

Ted Thal Memorial Scholarship at ASU

Ted Thal was a chair of ASQ Phoenix and a significant contributor to the establishment of Quality Assurance programs in Arizona.  Because of his contributions, a scholarship honoring these contributions has been established by the Phoenix Section of the American Society for Quality.

This scholarship program is being administered by the ASU Foundation.

Criteria for the scholarship are:

1. Recipients must be full-time Engineering Students in the Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering. Recipients must also maintain a 3.25 GPA or higher to qualify.

2. Selection Process:  Recipients shall be chosen by the Scholarship Office in the Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering.

For more information about the scholarship program please contact:

Future City Competition

The Future City Competition introduces students to engineering concepts through practical applications of math and science. Student teams are guided by volunteer engineers and teachers as they design and build their vision of the urban world of tomorrow.

Each year ASQ Phoenix sends a team of judges to the Arizona competition and chooses a school team for a quality award.

The ASQ Phoenix winners for 2018 are the Naveekaran Team from Esmond Station K-8 school, Tucson. They won the “ASQ Best Application of Quality Concepts to Future Cities”.

The student winners of the Esmond Station “Naveekaran” team are

  • Jaden Magnusson
  • Kyleigh McComish
  • Kaitlynn Zimmerman

Their teacher is Ms. Jenifer Campos and their engineering mentor is Sally Stang.

The group plaques were awarded in January 2018. For more information about Naveekaran please attached files below: